Flows as Procedure Calls

Post your questions and help other users.

Moderator: Martin

Post Reply
squan
Posts: 5
Joined: 18 Nov 2013 21:14

Flows as Procedure Calls

Post by squan » 18 Nov 2013 21:24

Hi,
I want to reuse flows as procedures (subroutines) for common tasks.
I.e. these flows are called by top level flows, take input in variables and return results in variables.
My problem is that each flow must have a trigger, which is not adequate for flows when used as a procedure. These procedures should just run unconditionally when and only when called by a flow.
Flows representing a procedure are not meant to be triggered as a top level flow.

How can I do that??

Martin!
Posts: 31
Joined: 26 Oct 2013 18:00

Re: Flows as Procedure Calls

Post by Martin! » 18 Nov 2013 23:15

Just leave the trigger empty. While each flow does need a trigger box as a starting point, you don't need to assign any triggers to it.

squan
Posts: 5
Joined: 18 Nov 2013 21:14

Re: Flows as Procedure Calls

Post by squan » 19 Nov 2013 05:46

Martin! wrote:Just leave the trigger empty. While each flow does need a trigger box as a starting point, you don't need to assign any triggers to it.
Glad to here that using flows as subroutines should be possible.
But how do I make a trigger "empty"?

I created my procedure flow by factoring out from the main flow (i.e. by flow copying).
So there already is a trigger but there seems no way to make it empty.
The UI offers only lists with radio boxes with no possibility to deselect.

Also context and online help do not mention such thing like an empty trigger.
If the Automagic guys read this, please make such things more obvious.

Any hint on how to make a trigger empty?

98b427af

Re: Flows as Procedure Calls

Post by 98b427af » 19 Nov 2013 14:32

squan wrote:Any hint on how to make a trigger empty?
I created a Global Variable trigger that uses an invalid global variable name. Every time I want an "empty" trigger, I just use that. See
Empty Trigger.xml
(619 Bytes) Downloaded 843 times
.

pat2net
Posts: 85
Joined: 01 May 2013 09:18

Re: Flows as Procedure Calls

Post by pat2net » 19 Nov 2013 14:53

Click on the top of the trigger and then you can unselect the trigger. Also when you create a new flow, just leave the trigger box empty and click on the plus to link an action or a condition.

squan
Posts: 5
Joined: 18 Nov 2013 21:14

Re: Flows as Procedure Calls

Post by squan » 19 Nov 2013 16:26

pat2net wrote:Click on the top of the trigger and then you can unselect the trigger.
Thanks, that's it!
Somehow I missed the difference that this list shows checkboxes (also allowing for more then one trigger) in contrast to the list i get when clicking the edit symbol to the left of tthe trigger box (for modifying one of the selected triggers).

98b427af

Re: Flows as Procedure Calls

Post by 98b427af » 19 Nov 2013 22:07

Note that if you want to name the trigger, you'll need to use a method similar to the one I posted. A completely blank trigger can't be edited. A trigger like mine will never be executed, so its contents don't matter.

Post Reply