Using {} in text

Post your questions and help other users.

Moderator: Martin

Post Reply
User avatar
TheBrain1984
Posts: 137
Joined: 07 Aug 2013 08:17
Location: Germany

Using {} in text

Post by TheBrain1984 » 22 Nov 2013 21:00

Hi there,

how can I use { and } in a text as text. For example I want to show the string:
{test}
and not the value of the variable test?

Thanks

Regards
Manuel

EDIT: Put the text to be shown in a quotation box.
Last edited by TheBrain1984 on 22 Nov 2013 22:08, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MURTUMA
Posts: 697
Joined: 05 Mar 2013 22:43

Re: Using {} in text

Post by MURTUMA » 22 Nov 2013 21:55

Put them between these: "
Sorry, I don't know what's that called in English.

Martin!
Posts: 31
Joined: 26 Oct 2013 18:00

Re: Using {} in text

Post by Martin! » 22 Nov 2013 22:02

MURTUMA wrote:Put them between these: "
Sorry, I don't know what's that called in English.
Could you give an example?

User avatar
TheBrain1984
Posts: 137
Joined: 07 Aug 2013 08:17
Location: Germany

Re: Using {} in text

Post by TheBrain1984 » 22 Nov 2013 22:36

Now I tried a lot of combinations:
for example the value of test is foo
  • "{test}" --> "foo"
  • "{"test"}" --> "test"
  • {"test"} --> test
  • '{test}' --> 'foo'
  • '{'test'}' --> 'test'
  • {'test'} --> test
but not the expected {test}

User avatar
TheBrain1984
Posts: 137
Joined: 07 Aug 2013 08:17
Location: Germany

Re: Using {} in text

Post by TheBrain1984 » 22 Nov 2013 23:33

Ok, finally I found a way.

First I had to make a "script"-action:

Code: Select all

var1 = '{test}'
and then my final action (in my case a "HTTP request"-action, but for better testing I used the notification-action) and put in the text box:

Code: Select all

{var1}
and got finally
{test}

User avatar
MURTUMA
Posts: 697
Joined: 05 Mar 2013 22:43

Re: Using {} in text

Post by MURTUMA » 23 Nov 2013 12:29

Sorry, that was just a wild guess. Good thing you stillmanaged to solve that on your own.

User avatar
Martin
Posts: 4468
Joined: 09 Nov 2012 14:23

Re: Using {} in text

Post by Martin » 02 Dec 2013 17:29

Hi,

You can also use the same syntax in an inline script in a regular action like Notification on Screen.
A text like this should work:

Code: Select all

Text with {'{test}'}
Regards,
Martin

User avatar
TheBrain1984
Posts: 137
Joined: 07 Aug 2013 08:17
Location: Germany

Re: Using {} in text

Post by TheBrain1984 » 04 Dec 2013 10:30

OK, thanks. Looks a little bit like an inception *g.

Post Reply